June 2017 wrap up

For some reason I still can’t grasp the concept of time…I cannot believe that it is already July. Half the year has passed already and it’s really tripping me out. Anyway, if you want to know what I’ve been watching, reading, and listening to, click read more!

MOVIES

Your Name (2016): I actually have a review for this here! In short, I loved it, and recommend it to literally anyone down to have a fun (and tear filled) time.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017): I’m not an avid fan of the Pirates of the Caribbean series, but my boyfriend is, so we ended up going to the theatre to watch the new release. It wasn’t bad! In my opinion it was a decent film. I was shocked at the turn out though, the theatre was actually jam packed. I didn’t realize that the franchise was still so popular!

Wonder Woman (2017): So good! I really liked this film. I really had no prior knowledge of Wonder Woman going in, but that made me like the film even more. Definitely recommend!

BOOKS

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (Book #3 in the Raven Cycle): I love love love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style, and cannot wait to buy the fourth (and last) instalment of the series. Unfortunately, the paperback doesn’t come out until January of 2018, and because I bought all three of them in paperback…I’m gonna have to wait.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Book #1 in the Red Queen series): I wasn’t too impressed with this novel. It was OK, with an interesting enough plot and world, but nothing about it really stood out to me. I probably will not be picking up the second book, because personally the writing style wasn’t doing much for me either. Overall, it was a decent read but nothing about it blew me away.

TV

Shadowhunters: Season 2b came out, and I’ve been keeping up. As I’ve stated before, I’m really enjoying this season, and it’s interesting to see how many book elements transfer to the show.

The Fosters: Y’all this season got so wild. So much stuff happened in every episode. I think it was the third season that Jesus was started being played by another actor, and it was really jarring at first, but towards the end of the fourth season, everything seemed organic and natural. The 5th season premieres July 11th!

MUSIC

Discreet EP by Cierra Ramirez: Cierra actually plays Marianna in The Fosters! Listening to this EP makes me feel way cooler than I really am. My favourite tracks are ‘Ain’t Nobody’ and ‘G.M.T.H. (Get Money)’.

What media have you consumed this month?

– Ari

Leave a Reply

