Last Young Renegade | my summer soundtrack

Music…. ruining my eardrums rather than my eyesight? Equally as bad I suppose, but well worth it.

I can’t remember the last time I’ve found an entire album that I can listen to over and over again without getting sick of it. Cue Last Young Renegade by All Time Low; it has accomplished just that. 

A little background information for those of you who may be unfamiliar with their music, All Time Low has been around for over a decade. Their earlier releases are definitely punk rock, with little to no traces of pop. Which I enjoy, but as time has gone on and the band has grown, their sound has started to feature more pop-ish elements. Unlike a lot of other bands with similar progression stories, All Time Low has made this transition so seamless and successfully; maintaining a sound that still stays true to their own uniqueness. They win first place in the imaginary rankings I store in my emo head.

Last Young Renegade welcomes various synths into the mix while still featuring the live talents of the band’s members. Each track has managed to uplift me and take me to different places of both nostalgia and hope. The lyrics speak simply and beautifully to their intentions, and are catchy enough to stay stuck in my head for hours… But it’s a good thing.

Now I’m not gonna try and break down each song and pretend like I know what they’re each supposed to mean. I think one of the beauties of music is that it can speak the same words but tell a different story to each person who listens. SO, I will give a few words of opinion along with my favourite lyrics from each track, enjoy!

1. Last Young Renegade

“You were my last young renegade heartache, it only took one night. Caught in the eye of a hurricane darling, we had to say goodbye.”

It actually took me a few listens to really appreciate this song. It’s now one of my favourites off the album. Brings me back to a time that reminds me that saying goodbye to someone you love or once loved is never easy.

2. Drugs & Candy

“You caught me in a moment of redemption, there’s nothing to explain. You had me on the edge of indiscretion, you said you feel the same.”

YOU AND ME ARE LIKE DRUGS AND CANDYYYYYYYYY. What a soothing bop. Addicted to a toxic person? Jam out to this tune and let ’em go.

3. Dirty Laundry

“I don’t care about what you did, only care about what we do. Dirty laundry looks good on you.”

‘Cause who doesn’t look good in dirty laundry? Ya’ll are beautiful. We all got our inner demons, don’t let them stop you.

4. Good Times

Cannot pick just one lyric, I’m obsessed with the whole thing.

This song makes me long for my childhood, high school, old friendships … all the good times. It reminds me to never take things for granted… Enjoy the happy moments in your life while they’re happening, because they won’t last forever. Though luckily, you’ll always have the memories.

5. Nice2KnoU

“One more time for second chances, we just want to do some damage.”

CLASSIC ATL VIBES. This track be rolling in more guitars and a fast paced punk-ish drum beat. Simple lyrics; fun to sing along and dance to.

6. Life Of The Party

“In a sea of strangers, I can’t find me anymore.”

Okay okay we got a sick jam here. Genius blend of guitars and synths. I don’t know how to explain it really… It’s like, if (most) pop songs you heard on the radio were actually good, this would be one of them.

7. Nightmares

“There’s a little house on a perfect little hill, just short of a fairy-tale.”

I know this has nothing to do with the song (or maybe it does?), but it makes me feel like I should be on a boat. I’m weird though. Overall a good, chill, track.

8. Dark Side Of Your Room

“With nights like these, who needs days? I shut my eyes and sleep them away.”

I feel like this would be the song where everyone in the audience (of a live performance) can just let go, dance, have a good time, bond, sing at the top of your lungs. A solid song to loose yourself in.

9. Ground Control (feat. Tegan and Sara)

“Hey, I promise you will be fine. Got the universe on your side.”

Some days I feel like I’m so disconnected from the world around me, like I’m from space or something. But this uplifting bop can give me hope in an instant.

10. Afterglow

“Oh, just take it easy. Hold onto this feeling, all our friends are leaving. And we ain’t got nowhere to go, caught up in the afterglow.”

Maybe I’m just being weird again but I can easily picture this song playing during the credits of a kid’s film. Perhaps that’s why it’s the last song on the album? Coincidence? Anyway, theories aside, “Afterglow” gets an A+ from me.

last
(Last Young Renegade by All Time Low – Album artwork)

You can find this album on Apple Music, iTunes, Spotify, etc. etc. All your usual music streaming sites/apps. I’d recommend giving it a listen.

My Rating: ✰✰✰✰✰ (woot)

– Jenaya

Leave a Reply

