tv shows I’ve been watching lately

It’s that sweet time of year again…end of exam season and end of the semester. I’ve been utilizing it to the fullest potential – spending every day watching way too much tv for my own good. This post covers mostly what I’ve been watching recently and during (yikes) exam season which was around a month ago already. Where does the time go? Watching/wasting my time with television shows evidently. Here is my embarrassingly long list of shows I’ve been watching recently.

1. Shadowhunters

Based on the Mortal Instruments series, the second season of Shadowhunters came out earlier this year. IMO the first season was so bad that it was good, so corny that it was funny – it had that kind of appeal. They hired another screenwriter for the second season, and I can already tell that there is a huge difference in quality. The dialogue is less stilted and the plot is not as predictable. The second part of season 2 is airing this summer and I will definitely be adding that to my list!

watched on: Netflix

2. Scandal

I went into Scandal not knowing what it was about at all. It is definitely one of the shows where you can’t expect any of the plot twists, or at least I can’t. I’ve caught up to this season, and the plot line has gotten so convoluted but it’s still good. It’s definitely changed it’s tone throughout the seasons, and I do prefer the older ones, but for now I think they’re doing a decent job of forwarding the series without dragging it out.

watched on: Netflix

3. 13 Reasons Why

I told myself I would watch this after the exam season because I knew that I would want to finish it if I started it. I didn’t keep my promise. I watched one episode after a long day of studying to reward myself, and that ended up as me binge watching the series over a course of three days. #procrastination

The series has already been picked up for a second season, which I still don’t know how I feel about yet. There has been a lot of controversy surrounding the show with its mishandling of mental illness, and I can only hope that they will use the second season to fix those mistakes rather than use it to exploit its commercial value.

watched on: Netflix

4. Girlboss

I thought it was really interesting to see a docudrama (leaning more towards the drama) of the real implementation of Nasty Gal. I don’t really have much to say about this show, it wasn’t superb, but it wasn’t bad either. It was a decent show that I finished and don’t care much if it gets renewed for a second season, but I would consider watching if it did.

watched on: Netflix

5. How To Get Away With Murder

Ohhhh my godddd. I didn’t realize how intense this show was. I didn’t even expect there to be so many murders going on, which in hindsight was a foolish thought because…murder…is in the title. Again, same as Scandal, the plot has became so convoluted already (I just finished the second season), but I hope the third season gets uploaded on Netflix because I am so down to watch.

I love the structure of the show, with the flash forward clips explicitly showing what’s going to happen, but having to wait to see how it happened. It’s almost like the audience is putting together the clues, solving the murders themselves. So good.

watched on: Netflix

6. The Good Fight

I miss The Good Wife so much. I actually haven’t even watched the last episode. I just can’t bring myself to finish it. I’ll watch the last episode when I’m on my death bed I guess. Nurse, please turn on the Netflix. The Good Fight is the spin off series of The Good Wife, and so far I’m not too impressed. It’s good, but it’s not great. Yet. I still have hope. I feel like as the series progresses and more drama gets introduced the show will become just as good and enjoyable as The Good Wife.

watched on: Rogers On Demand

There you have it folks. My embarrassingly long list of television shows that I’ve been watching lately. Leave me a comment of what shows you’ve been watching so I don’t feel as bad.

-Ari

 

 

3 thoughts on “tv shows I’ve been watching lately

  1. I loved the first season of How to get away with murder, I watched it twice straight away!! But the second season didn’t grab me, so I didn’t carry on. I’m glad you liked it! Maybe I’ll give it another try. I was really thrilled by the first season, it was so expertly crafted! They just had us all in the palm of their hand. Brilliant whodunnit.
    I also really like The Good Wife 🙂
    And Person of Interest – have you seen that? I think you’d like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I liked the first season of HTGAWM better than the second. And I haven’t seen Person of Interest but I will definitely check it out! Seems like we have similar tastes in TV shows 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

